Look for the girl with the sun in her eyes … and she’s gone.

Playwright Joshua Rollins

I grew up in a small town in West Virginia and I was really the first person in my family to not only apply to colleges, but to show any interest in blowing past that third stop light and heading out for greener pastures.

I remember the day I headed out to the local grocery store to steal banana boxes to pack up my meager belongings–books and books of plays, a couple pairs of jeans, Bob Dylan records.

I was driving down a little side street in my dad’s beat up van. The sun was bouncing off the windshield and I was squinting, trying to see.

Then it happened. A biker, no older than 8, flew out of nowhere right in front of me. I slammed on the brakes and the van went up over an embankment into the opposite lane of traffic. By sheer luck, I missed the biker, missed the trees, and missed the oncoming car. The kid was gone and I was shaken to my core.

A few feet to the left or right, a few seconds later, and I would have killed that kid. And college would have been gone. Would I have gone to prison? Where would I be now?

These questions have haunted me. It’s no mistake that the character of Detective Goggins has a monologue about a similar incident. And a few feet in either direction would have changed her life forever.

Maybe we are all just a few feet, a few seconds, a few decisions away from our ideal life or the end of it.

The central theme of the play is a simple question of “What would you do?” Here’s the horrible situation. Here are the two terrible options you have to choose between. What would you do? How far would you go to protect the life you have?

–Joshua Rollins

This entry was posted in Artists, Playwright. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

